Press "Enter" to skip to content

Five-member panel formed to shortlist names for AIIMS director’s post

New Delhi: A five-member search-cum-selection committee, led by Health Secretary C K Mishra, has been constituted to shortlist names for the AIIMS director’s post.

Other members of the panel are R Chidambaram, Principal Scientific Adviser to Prime Minister; Dr Soumya Swaminathan, Secretary in the Department of Health Research; Dr Jagdish Prasad, Director General of Health Services (DGHS); and Yogesh Tyagi, Vice Chancellor of Delhi University, reports Business Standard.

According to reports, 53 eminent doctors, including 35 candidates from outside AIIMS, have applied for the AIIMS director’s post and the screening of applications is complete.

All the three main contenders for the top post are from AIIMS, New Delhi and include Dr V K Paul, Head of the Department (HOD) of Paediatrics; Dr Randeep Guleria, HOD of Pulmonary Medicine and Sleep Disorders; and Dr Alka Kriplani, HOD of Obstetrics and Gynaecology.

Dr M C Misra, the current director of AIIMS, New Delhi, is set to retire on January 31 next year.

As per the rules, the search-cum-selection committee selects a name from the list of candidates, which is then sent to the Appointments Committee of the Cabinet (ACC) headed by the Prime Minister for final approval.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *