Press "Enter" to skip to content

Dr K K Talwar appointed new chairman of MCI Board of Governors

The union health ministry on Friday reconstituted Medical Council of India‘s (MCI) board of governors and appointed Dr K K Talwar, a noted cardiologist and former director of Post Graduate Institute of Medical Education and Research (PGIMER), Chandigarh, as its new chairman. The tenure of the current board, headed by Dr S K Sarin, ends on Saturday.

MCI’s new board will have Dr Kailash S Sharma, professor, department of anaesthesiology, Tata Memorial Hospital, Mumbai; Dr Harbhajan Singh Rissam, director, Clinical Cardiac Sciences and senior interventional cardiologist at Max Heart and Vascular Institute, Delhi; Dr Rajiv Chintaman Yeravdekar, director, Symbiosis Institute of Health Sciences, Pune; Dr Purshottam Lal, Director, interventional cardiology and chairman, Metro Group of Hospitals, Delhi.

The MCI board of governors is supposed to be a seven-member body. According to a source in the union health ministry, the government is still finalising the names of the other members. One new clause has been added to the functioning of the new board — all the new members will have to work as full-time officials of MCI.

The 77-year-old MCI was dissolved after the Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI) arrested then MCI president Dr Ketan Desai on April 22, 2010, for accepting a bribe of Rs 2 crore. Desai allegedly accepted the money in lieu of recognising a medical college in Punjab even though it did not meet MCI’s norms. [Source: ToI]

One Comment

  1. Shivaram Prasad Singh Shivaram Prasad Singh Sunday, May 15, 2011

    Sonia Gandhi has been deciding: “Kaun Banega Mukhyamantri”, Pradhan Mantri, and ‘Rashtrapati’. Can’t she spare the MCI. And we talk of “Panchayat Raj” and devolution of power.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *