Dr M R Rajagopal honoured with Ranbaxy Public Health Award

Monday, February 27, 2012

New Delhi: Ranbaxy Science Foundation (RSF), a non-profit organisation set-up by Ranbaxy Laboratories, has honoured Dr M R Rajagopal, chairman, Pallium India Trust and director, Trivandrum Institute of Palliative Sciences with the Ranbaxy Public Health Award for his outstanding contributions in the fields of pain management and palliative care.

Dr M R Rajagopal

RSF has also honoured five outstanding scientists and five young science scholars for excellence in medical and pharmaceutical research. The awards were presented by Finbarr Martin, president, British Geriatrics Society at a function held here on Monday.

Utpal S Tatu

The award in the field of medical sciences, basic research 2010 was given jointly to Utpal S Tatu, department of biochemistry, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore and Chandrima Shaha, director, National Institute of Immunology, New Delhi.

Utpal Tatu gets this award for his pioneering studies on molecular chaperones as potential drug targets against neglected disease causing protozoan parasites such as Giardia lamblia, Plasmodium falciparum and Trypanosoma evansi.

Chandrima Shaha

Chandrima Shaha gets this award for her contributions towards the understanding of cell death pathways and cellular defence processes in unicellular and multicellular model systems.

The award in the field of medical sciences, medical research 2010 was given to Utpal Bhadra, senior principal scientist, Centre for Cellular and Molecular Biology, Hyderabad.

Utpal Bhadra

Bhadra gets the award for unravelling the new role of RNA interference in heterochromatin formation in higher eukaryotes especially in Drosophila, which is indispensible for chromosome segregation during cell proliferation and cell cycle control.

The award in the field of pharmaceutical sciences 2010, was given jointly to Krishnan Ravikumar, chief scientist, Laboratory of X-ray Crystallography, Indian Institute of Chemical Technology, Hyderabad and Gangadhar J Sanjayan, senior scientist, division of organic chemistry, National Chemical Laboratory, Pune.

Krishnan Ravikumar

Ravikumar gets the award in recognition of his knowledge and skills in devising analytical experimental methods using X-Ray Diffraction, which is contributing to furthering drug research and development.

Sanjayan gets the award in recognition of his pioneering work in the development of diverse classes of synthetic protein scaffolds.

Gangadhar J Sanjayan

The Ranbaxy Science Scholars 2011 awards in the field of bio-medical sciences were given to Arijit Kumar Das, senior research fellow, protein science and engineering department, Institute of Microbial Technology, Chandigarh and Vijay Kumar Prajapati, senior research fellow (ICMR), department of medicine, Institute of Medical Sciences, Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi.

The Science Scholars 2011 awards in the field of pharmaceutical sciences were given to Deepak Chitkara and Anupama Mittal, PhD scholars, department of pharmaceutics, National Institute of Pharmaceutical Education and Research (NIPER), Mohali and Kadam Meghraj S, senior research fellow, School of Life Sciences, North Maharashtra University, Jalgaon.

Categories: NEWS

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  More from NEWS

Next generation optical biometry devices market may grow to $450 million by 2028

Healthcare should be a mission with ethical & moral values: Rajnath Singh

Biosense Technologies raises $1 million in funding

World No Tobacco Day celebrated at ESIC Medical College

Pune doctors perform India’s first uterus transplant surgery

ICMR to test efficacy of two medicines for tackling drug-resistant TB

1 Comment »

Comment by Congrats Dr. Rajagopal. Wish you many more laurels for the wonderful service you are rendering!
2012-02-28 11:53:38

Congrats Dr. Rajagopal. Wish you many more laurels for the wonderful work you are rendering. All the best!

Name (required)
E-mail (required - never shown publicly)
Your Comment (smaller size | larger size)
You may use <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong> in your comment.